Local history groups


There are over 80 active local history groups in Oxfordshire, whose members carry out research, publish newsletters and journals, mount exhibitions, help schoolchildren to learn about their area’s history, and enjoy programmes of outings and illustrated talks from invited speakers.

Back to the welcome page.

If the details of your group below are incorrect, please contact membership@olha.org.uk

 

Abingdon Area Archaeological & Historical Society, Manfred Brod, secretary@aaahs.org.uk, www.aaahs.org.uk

Adderbury History Association, Mrs Jill Adams, 11 Lake Walk, Adderbury, Banbury, OX17 3PF, jillmadams@hotmail.com, 01295 816 873, http://adderbury.org/listing-category/history/

Ashbury Local History Society, Mrs Marion Turner, Claremont, Ashbury, Swindon, SN6 8LN, 01793 790181, www.ashbury.org.uk/organisations-2/organisations

Asthall Parish Survey Group [closed in February 2017]

Aston History Group, Mr Martin Bowley, 56 Cote Road, Aston, Bampton, OX18 2DU, aston.historygroup@hotmail.co.uk, 01993 850440, www.wospweb.com/site/Aston-history-Group/index.htm

Banbury Historical Society, Mr Simon Townsend, Banbury Museum, Spiceball Park Road, Banbury, OX16 2PQ, simon.townsend@banburymuseum.org, 01295 753781, http://www.banburymuseum.org/Banbury-History-Society

Bartons History Group, Mrs Christine Edbury, 18 North Street, Middle Barton, OX7 7BJ, christine.edbury@yahoo.co.uk, 01869 347013, www.bartonshistorygroup.org.uk

Bensington Society (Historical Group)Mrs Sue Brown, 51 St Helens Avenue, Benson, Wallingford OX10 6RU, micansue@virginmedia.com, 01491 837885, www.bensingtonhistory.org, www.bensington-society.com

Bicester Local History Society, Mrs Sally James, 14 George Street, Bicester, OX26 2EG, sallyjames46@hotmail.com, 01869 243804, www.blhs.org.uk

Blewbury Local History Group, Ms Audrey Long, Spring Cottage, Church Road, Blewbury, Didcot, OX11 9PY, audrey.long@waitrose.com, 01235850427, www.blewburyhistory.org.uk

Bloxham Village History Club, Mr Ian Myson, 23 Colegrave Road, Bloxham, OX15 4NT, 01295 720951, ian_myson@hotmail.com, http://bloxham.info/broadsheet/category/clubs-and-societies

Chalgrove Local History Group, Mrs Gill Lester, 2 Farm Close, Chalgrove, OX44 7RL, gilllester@waitrose.com, 01865 890451, https://chalgrovelocalhistorygroup.org.uk

Charlbury Society, Ms Anne Lawson-Porter, Rose Cottage, Hixet Wood, Charlbury, OX7 3SB, kennap@talktalk.net, www.charlbury.info/community/22

Chinnor Historical & Archaeological Society [closed in May 2016]

Chipping Norton History Society, Mrs Pauline Watkins, paulinewatkins58@icloud.com,  www.chippingnortonmuseum.org.uk

Centre for Banburyshire Studies, Ms Angela Kingdom, Library Manager, Banbury Library, Marlborough Road, Banbury, OX16 5DB, angela.kingdom@oxfordshire.gov.uk, 01295 262282, https://www.oxfordshire.gov.uk/cms/content/banbury-library

Clanfield & Bampton Historical Society, Mr Alan Smith, Foundry House, Main Street, Clanfield, Bampton, OX18 2SP, smithequi@aol.com, 01367 810245, http://bamptonarchive.org/historical-soc/

Cowley Local History Society [closed in April 2017]

Cumnor & District History Society, Mr Graham Ansell, 4 Yarnells Hill, Oxford OX2 9BD, unclegrimble@btinternet.com, 01865 724808.

Deddington & District History Society, Mrs Moira Byast, 5 The Lane, Hempton, Deddington, OX15 0QT, thebyasts@btinternet.com, 01869 338637, www.deddington.org.uk/clubs/ddhs

Denchworth Local History Group, Mrs Susan Brandon, Bakehouse Cottage, Denchworth, Wantage, OX12 0DU, sue.brandon1@gmail.com, 01235 868451.

Didcot & District Archaeological & Historical Society, Mr David Taylor, 26 Fairacres Road, Didcot OX11 8QG, dave@zygal.co.uk, 07843421029, www.ddahs.org.uk

Dorchester Historical Society, Miss Gail Thomas, 14 Herringcote, Martins Lane, Dorchester on Thames, OX10 7RD, gail.thomas8@btopenworld.com, 01865 341977, www.dorchester-on-thames.co.uk/posts/clubsociety/dorchester-historical-society/

Enstone Local History Society, Mrs Carol Geare, The Thatched Cottage, Gagingwell, Chipping Norton, OX7 4EF, carolawt@gmail.com, 01608 677246, www.enstoneparish.org/links/ehs-news.pdf

Eynsham History Group, Ms Pamela Richards, 6 Abbey Street, Eynsham OX29 4HR, penate@ntlworld.com, 01865 881396 (archivist / publications manager); Mr Martin Harris, martin.harris321@gmail.com, 01865 864776 (Chairman), http://eynshamhistorygroup.org.uk

Finstock Local History Society, Mr Tony Cooper, 6 Hill Crescent, Finstock, OX7 3DS, http://finstocklocalhistory.blogspot.com

Friends of the Vale & Downland Museum Centre, Ms Alison Boyd, FVDM Committee, Vale & Downland Museum, 19 Church Street, Wantage, OX12 8BL, friendsofvdm@gmail.com, www.friendsofthevdm.org.uk

Friends of Tom Brown’s School Museum, Mrs Jo Coad, 24 Craven Common, Uffington, Faringdon, SN7 7RN, museum@uffington.net, www.museum.uffington.net

Goring Gap Local History Society, Mrs Janet Hurst, 6 Nun’s Acre, Goring on Thames, RG8 9BE, goringgaphistory@gmail.com, 01491 871022, www.goringgaphistory.org.uk.

Great Haseley Archives (The Haseley Archives), Miss Kay Sentance, Rose Cottage, Great Haseley, OX44 7JG, ksentance@gmail.com, http://www.thehaseleys.co.uk/page7.html

Hanney History Group, Mr Andrew Robertson, andycwrob@btinternet.com, 0789 991 3281, www.thehanneys.org.uk/history/hanney-history-group.aspx

Henley on Thames Archaeological & Historical Group, Ms Ruth Gibson, 7 Vicarage Road, Henley-on-Thames, RG9 1HF, secretary@henley-on-thamesarchaeologicalandhistoricalgroup.org.uk, 01491 572271, www.henley-on-thamesarchaeologicalandhistoricalgroup.org.uk

Hook Norton Local History Group, Mr David McGill, Sunnybank Farmhouse, Scotland End, Hook Norton, OX15 5NR, scotlandend@btinternet.com, 01608 737103, http://hook-norton.org.uk/groups/hook-norton-local-history-group/

Hornton History Group, Mr Kevin Wain, The Swallows, Eatsgate, Hornton, Banbury, OX15 6BT, kawain@zoho.com, 01295 670716, http://www.hornton-history.co.uk/

Iffley History Society, Mr Paul Butler, 92 Church Way, Iffley, Oxford, OX4 4EF, mpetipa@ntlworld.com, 01865 777048, http://iffleyhistory.wordpress.com

Kennington History Society, Mrs Jean Holt, 84 The Avenue, Kennington, Oxford, OX1 5RJ, 01865 730280, http://kennington-pc.gov.uk/organisations-and-clubs/history/history-society/

Kidlington & District Historical Society, Mrs Melanie Wakefield, 160 The Moors, Kidlington, OX5 2AD, melanie_wakefield@hotmail.com, 01865 460926,  www.kidlingtonhistory.org.uk

Launton Historical Society, Mr Peter Barrington, 30 Lynham Road, Bicester, OX26 4FD, pbarrington665@btinternet.com, 01869 245009, www.launton.org/organisations/local-history/

Littlemore Local History Society, Mrs Sue Stewart, 1 Mandelbrote Drive, Littlemore, Oxford OX4 4XG, history.littlemore@gmail.com, 01865 711332.

Long Wittenham Local History Group, Mrs Janet Haylett, 8 Westfield Road, Long Wittenham, OX14 4RF, familyhaylett@yahoo.com, 01865 407382, http://www.longwittenham.com/clubs-and-groups/history-group/

Longworth & District History Society, Mrs Pam Woodward, 2 Cherry Tree Close, Southmoor, Abingdon OX13 5BB, info@l-h-s.org.uk, prwoodward@btinternet.com, 01865 820500, www.longworth-district-history-society.org.uk

Lower Windrush Historical Society (formerly Standlake & District Historical Society), Mr BH Roberts, 47 High Street, Standlake, OX29 7RH, troberts@uwclub.net, 01865 300799, www.standlakepc.org.uk/historysoc.htm

Marcham Society, Mrs Judith Fontaine, 14 Tower Close, Marcham, Abingdon, OX13 6PZ, peter.fontaine172@btinternet.com, 01865 391275, www.marchamsociety.org.uk

Middleton Cheney History Society, Mr Nigel Wadlow, 7 Main Road, Middleton Cheney, OX17 2ND, nigel_wadlow@btinternet.com, 01295 710278, http://www.middletoncheney.org.uk/news/2016/02/middleton-cheney-history-society

Minster Lovell Historical Society, Mr Geoff Hoar, 32 Swinbrook Road, Carterton, OX18 1DS, geoffandjanet@talktalk.net, 01993 775086, http://www.minsterlovell-pc.gov.uk/village_organisations.htm

North Leigh History Group, Mrs Diana Power, Ting Tang Cottage, New Yatt Road, North Leigh, OX29 6TT, power618@btinternet.com, 01993 882301, www.wospweb.com/site/North-Leigh-Online/History-Group.htm

Oxfordshire Family History Society, Christopher Fance, meetings@ofhs.org.uk, www.ofhs.org.uk

Oxfordshire Gardens Trust, Joanna Matthews, 7 Church Way, Ifffley, Oxford OX4 4DY, grannyjo2648@gmail.com, 01865 777531, www.ogt.org.uk

Otmoor Archaeological & Historical Society, Mr R Dunn, Arlington, Noke OX3 9TX, 01865 372264, www.otmoor.co.uk

Radley History Club, Ms Jenny Lee, 213 Whitecross, Abingdon OX13 6BW, programme@radleyhistoryclub.org.uk, 01235 799374, www.radleyhistoryclub.org.uk

Sibfords Society, Mrs Diana Hughes, Meadow View, Sibford Ferris, Banbury, OX15 5RG, ddavhug@aol.com, 01295 780506, www.thesibfords.org.uk/org/sibfords-society

Soldiers of Oxfordshire Trust (SOFO), Ursula Corcoran, SOFO Museum, Park Street, Woodstock OX20 1SS, ucorcoran@hotmail.co.uk, 01993 810 210, www.sofo.org.uk

Standlake & District Historical Society – see Lower Windrush Historical Society

Stanford in the Vale & District Local History Society, Dr David Axford, Honey End, 14 Ock Meadow, Stanford in the Vale, Faringdon SN7 8LN, dnax@btinternet.com, 01367 718480, www.stanford-in-the-vale.co.uk/lhs.shtml

Steeple Aston Village Archive Trust, Mr Martin Lipson, West Grange, Grange Park, Steeple Aston OX25 4SR, martin.lipson@btinternet.com, 01869 347046, www.steepleastonarchive.org.uk

Stratton Audley Historical Society, Mrs Dorothy Howarth, 12 Cavendish Place, Stratton Audley OX27 9BN, dot.howarth@btinternet.com, 01869 277694, http://strattonaudley.org/the-village/history/historical-society/

Sutton Courtenay Local History Society, Ms Mary Thompson, 75 High Street, Sutton Courtenay, Abingdon, OX14 4AT, marydthompson@outlook.com, 01235 848527, www.sclhs.org.uk.

Tackley Local History Group, Mrs Sue Ashton, 10 St Nicholas Road, Tackley, OX5 3BH, suejashton1@btinternet.com, 01869 331335, www.tackleyvillage.co.uk/tvtlhg.html

Thame Historical Society, Mr Colin Sear, 12 Park Terrace, Thame, OX9 3HZ, csear58229@aol.com, 01844 212336, http://www.thamehistoricalsociety.org.uk/

Vale of the White Horse Industrial Archaeology Group, Mr Martin Buckland, 4 West Avenue, Abingdon,  OX14 1QP, martin.buckland1@ntlworld.com, 01235 204115, http://industrial-archaeology.org/vale-of-white-horse-industrial-archaeology-group/

Wallingford Historical & Archaeological SocietyDr Katharine Keats-Rohan, Linacre College, Oxford OX1 3JA, katharine.keats-rohan@history.ox.ac.uk, www.twhas.org.uk

Weston on the Green Society, Diane Bohm, Oddtymes, Weston on the Green, OX25 3QX, ianebohm@gmail.com, 01869 352006, www.wotg.org.uk/Weston_on_the_Green_Society.htm

Wheatley Archive, Miss Marian Darkin, The Merry Bells, High Street, Wheatley, OX33 1XP, wheatleyarchive@gmail.com, https://wheatleyarchive.org.uk/

Whitchurch & Goring Heath History Society, Mrs Sue Matthews, 2 Eastfield Lane, Whitchurch-on-Thames, RG8 7EN, suematt@waitrose.com, 0118 984 4489, www.whitchurchonthames.com/groups/history.html

Witney & District Museum & Historical Society, contact@witneyhistory.org, www.witneyhistory.org

Wolvercote Local History Society, Ms Barbara Dennis, 9 Dove House Close, Wolvercote, Oxford, OX2 8BG, ablscholar@yahoo.com, 01865 554616, http://wolvercote.org/History_Society/History.htm

Wootton, Dry Sandford & District History Society, Mr Malcolm Kindell, 34 Sandleigh Road, Wootton, Abingdon OX13 6DP, jenniferkindell334@btinternet.com, 01865 326527, www.history-society.org

Wychwoods Local History Society, Mr Roger Watts, Lancut House, Lyneham Road, Milton-under-Wychwood OX7 6LW, mail@wychwoodshistory.org, rogerw@bfocus.co.uk, 01993 831759, www.wychwoodshistory.org